Skip to content

Meet the Team

Our organization is comprised of dedicated and passionate staff and volunteer board members from our area school districts, industry, and nonprofit leaders.

Foundation Staff

Tonya Smith

Born and raised in Benton, PA, and a graduate of Benton High School, Tonya joined the Chamber staff in 2024 to give back to the local community through her role as Foundation Director.  A seasoned entrepreneur, manager, and networker with thirty years of experience in small business leadership, Tonya also worked for 18 years in program development, management, and training with the US Department of Agriculture, assisting landowners and farmers.  With her unique background in government and small business and her direct experience with the area’s workforce challenges, Tonya is uniquely equipped to work with area educators and employers to advance the Foundation’s initiatives in Columbia and Montour Counties.  A firm believer in the power of faith, family, and community, Tonya and her husband Kirby most enjoy spending quality time with their children and grandchildren.  For Foundation related inquiries, Tonya may be reached at, or (570) 784-2522 ext. 407.

Foundation Board of Directors

Bruce Schlichter


Dean Girton
Girton Manufacturing


James Geffken
Benton School District


Wendy Kupsky
Berwick School District


Michelle Prybyla
Bloomsburg School District


Curtis Funkhouser
Columbia Montour Vo-Tech


Molly Nied
Danville School District


Joe Rasmus
Millville School District

Jeff Groshek
Central Columbia School District


Jim Becker
Southern Columbia School District


Chris Berleth
Columbia Montour Chamber of Commerce


Alyssa Myers-Sanonu
Central Susquehanna Community Foundation


Hope Lineman
Commonwealth University


Sean Stabler


Bethany Cole

School District Partners

School districts across Columbia and Montour counties partner with the Foundation on a variety of student programs.  Connect with these districts here:

Scroll To Top